Interview with Guest Author Yolanda Sfetsos

Recast72lgVeronica: Today it’s my pleasure to interview Yolanda Sfetsos, author of  Recast, Volume 1. First a little about yourself:

Yolanda:  Wife. Mother. Writer. Bibliophile. Dreamer. Animal lover. Intrigued by the supernatural. Horror freak. Zombie enthusiast. Movie & music fan. Slave to her muse.

Lives in Sydney, Australia with her awesome husband, lovely daughter, and cheeky cat.

Veronica: Let’s jump right in and ask what prompted you to start writing?

Yolanda:I started writing back in my teens. I lived far away from my friends and had plenty of alone time, so I put it to good use by putting pen to paper whenever I didn’t have homework or wasn’t reading.

I’d made up stories inside my head for years but one day decided to take that extra step and actually started writing them down. For a while I shared them with my friends and even co-wrote a series of romance stories that were available in the school library.

Even then, I would write a variety of genres ranging from sweet romance to horror.

Veronica: Which five people (real, fictional, historical) would you invite to dinner and why?

Yolanda: Clive Barker, Stephen King, J.K. Rowling, Charlaine Harris and Stan Lee, because I reckon we could have a really long and fun conversation about life, creativity and writing. I think the wealth of knowledge between them would be astounding.

Veronica: hat would be an amazing table and the discussion would last until the wee hours for sure. Is there a word or phrase you most overuse in a manuscript? (I confess to “that” being my worst word LOL)

Yolanda: Oh yeah, I’m also guilty of the overuse of ‘that’. Asides from that—LOL—I find myself overusing a different set of words for each story. During my latest editing project, I overused ‘sounded’, ‘house’ and ‘little’. Weird, I know.

 Veronica: Yes, I find in each book I’ve gotten carried away with some new phrase. In the most recent one it was “bug out” for leaving the planet. I like to ask some Quickfire Questions:

Must watch TV Show: The Walking Dead (VS sez: Oh me too! I love Daryl…..)

Music on repeat: Guardians of the Galaxy Awesome Mix, Vol. 1 (at the moment)

Favorite Movie: I’ve got a bunch of favourite movies—Star Wars, The Lost Boys, The Goonies…to name a few—but I recently fell in love with Guardians of the Galaxy. So that’s my fave right now. 😉

Cats or Dogs? I love all animals. (But we have a cheeky cat called Loki)

Favorite Flower: Sunflowers

Tea or coffee: Tea in the morning, coffee in the afternoon

Morning person or evening person: I get up at 4:30am during the weekdays, so I’m going to say I’m a morning person. I love knowing that I’m awake while most people around me are still asleep. Also, getting an early start is always awesome.

Favorite Perfume: Don’t like perfume

Veronica: Well I guess we won’t ask you what scents your characters might be wearing LOL. What are you working on next?

Yolanda: I’m at that stage where several projects are trying to get my attention at the same time. I have two urban fantasy (Sierra Fox) spin-off ideas that are desperately trying to get my attention. I also can’t wait to write the last two books in my RECAST series. I’m looking forward to writing the stories of two very different, but just as damaged, brothers who’ve taken their own paths in separate parts of the galaxy.

But I’m guessing one of the urban fantasy ideas will win first place, because the main character is shouting the loudest. 😉

Veronica: What one question do you want to ask your Readers today?

Yolanda: Let’s see… I’d love to know which Recast character is their favourite. 🙂

 Veronica: Where can your Readers find you online?

WebsOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAite   Twitter     Goodreads

Thanks so much for having me over!

Buy Links for book: 

Recast, Volume 1:

Samhain Publishing | Amazon | Amazon UK 

 When betrayal, revenge, secrets and lust collide, there can only be chaos.
WITHER
Recast, Book 1

Wrangling is in Colt’s blood, but the woman he loved wasn’t easily tied down. Now a mysterious clientwither sfetsos has him wrangling someone who may not be human. Colt doesn’t care as long as he gets paid.
Colt could solve or multiply Brynn’s problems. She doesn’t expect him to understand why she left, but she needs his help. Colt looks as good as she remembers, and even after years, their mutual lust is alive.
Desire strips away secrets. A secret that could be their death sentence…

CLASH
Recast, Book 2
Half-Recast Ace Abu is determined to get to Fray and destroy the Clash Arena.
When he finds a barstool in Grit, he’s ready for a few beers, but the sexy singer on stage only makes him burn hotter.
Ely’Shea longs for freedom. When the boss is away she indulges her passions. That night she catches a glimpse of an alluring cowboy.
Unable to resist temptation, they’re consumed by passion…but once the fuses are set, their deepest secrets could blow any chance of forever to hell.

Product Warnings

Contains shapeshifters, space cowboys, female sheriffs, singers, double lives, and so many secrets it can only end in total madness.
RECAST, Volume 1 is now available from Samhain Publishing.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply