Guest Author SE Smith Shares Her Personal Story

PETS_In_Space_cover_artVeronica: My guest today is New York Times and USA Today Best Selling Author S. E. (Susan) Smith, one of my favorite people in the science fiction romance world – or any world! She was my first interview guest when I started writing for USA Today Happily Ever After, and we did a fun panel together at the last RT Booklovers’ Conference. I was so excited when she agreed to join us in writing stories for the Pets In Space anthology! She’s been very generous with her time and wise counsel as Pauline B. Jones and I put the collection together and worked on all the details of getting the book off to a successful release this week, on October 11th. 

I’ve already read S.E.’s story  in the book three times – it’s so much fun! 

SE: My Personal Story 

My personal story re: service men and women.

I come from a long history of family that has served our country. I am an Air Force brat, born and bred on a military base. I think the best thing about growing up in a family of veterans is the breakdown of the different barriers that you find outside of the service. The families were very supportive of each other regardless of race, religion, or other beliefs/preferences. I firmly believe that is why my stories reflect acceptance of others and are rooted in the relationships between friends and family, loyalty and doing the right thing.

se-blogHere you can see a picture of my grandson and I at the Air Force base where I was born. It has since closed, but it will always be home. My sister and I traveled there a few years ago on a road trip, before I traveled there with my husband and grandson. They both wanted to see where I was born.

It was a fun trip, but the biggest thing is it was wonderful to share a little bit of my life with my grandson. I loved listening to the stories my mom and dad used to tell about their childhoods. My mom told me how she and my grandmother were part of the Civil Air Patrol and would sit up on the mountain and search for enemy planes during the war. My dad shared how his father was a welder and worked in the Navy shipyards on the huge battleships. These are stories that ignite my imagination. Their stories are part of who I am.

I would like to say thank you to my sister, brother, dad, husband, son, brother-in-laws, uncles, and nephew who have served and are currently serving in the military. There are many ways we can support our service people, writing a story to benefit the Hero-dog project is just one of them.

Here is a teaser from “A Mate for Matrix” from Pets in Space:

“K-Nine is securing the area,” Matrix said between mouthfuls of the delicious food. “Sometimes it is very annoying that he can talk, but it is necessary. All Cyborg Protection Unit team members have that capability. We need to be able to communicate with each other. Their advanced systems give us valuable data. It was more cost effective to combine the natural talents of the animals with the technology of cybernetics. To answer your other question, I have not thought much about traveling through space. It has always been a part of my life. It can become very cool if the environmental system is not functioning correctly.”

Jana laughed and shook her head. “I didn’t mean cool as in being cold. It is a slang term for being neat, awesome, different, fun,” she explained. “You really are an alien, aren’t you?” She asked in a somber tone.

Click here for your copy of Pets in Space via Susan’s website

se-smith-nyt-bestselling-author-1Author Bio:

S.E. Smith, New York Times and USA TODAY Bestselling author of Science Fiction, Urban Fantasy, and Paranormal Romance brings another action, adventure, and suspense- filled story to transport readers out of this world. Readers can check out her website at http://sesmithfl.com and chat with her on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/se.smith.5.

The blurb for the Pets In Space Anthology:

Even an alien needs a pet…

Join the adventure as nine pet loving sci-fi romance authors take you out of this world and pull you into their action-packed stories filled with suspense, laughter, and romance. The alien pets have an agenda that will capture the hearts of those they touch. Follow along as they work side by side to help stop a genetically-engineered creature from destroying the Earth to finding a lost dragon; life is never the same after their pets decide to get involved. Can the animals win the day or will the stars shine just a little less brightly?

New York Times, USA TODAY, Award Winning, and Best selling authors have eight original, never-released stories and one expanded story giving readers nine amazing adventures that will capture your imagination and help a worthy charity. Come join us as we take you on nine amazing adventures that will change the way you look at your pet!

10% of the first month’s profits go to Hero-Dogs.org. Hero Dogs raises and trains service dogs and places them free of charge with US Veterans to improve quality of life and restore independence.

 

2 comments on “Guest Author SE Smith Shares Her Personal Story

Leave a Reply

