Understand Me Now? Weekend Writing Warriors

Warriors logo revisedI hope your New Year is going well so far – three days in and all resolutions intact LOL!

Here’s the link to the Weekend Writing Warriors central page, so you can visit all the participants sharing excerpts today…a fun way to sample new books and find new authors! (Also welcome to the Sunday Snippet visitors!)

Continuing with science fiction romance today. Here’s an excerpt from Lady of the Star Wind, an epic portal fantasy, which is undergoing a final edit and will be released after Star Cruise: Outbreak sometime early next year.

Sandy and Mark have been transported to an unknown world after breaking the Globe of Amarkana (you may remember those excerpts earlier in the year?). They found themselves in an oasis-like area with no exit. This snippet is from  quite a bit further in the novel, after Mark and Sandy have left the mysterious mountain oasis (which wasn’t a zoo after all), in the company of some new friends… Sandy was bitten by a snake, went into the green light with a woman unknown to her and now is sitting in a room she’s never seen before. Last week four women entered the room, trying to talk to Sandy, who didn’t understand:

“Selata menorasta tintre—” Tone definitely one of irritation, eyes narrowed, the tallest woman flicked Sandy’s forehead hard with two fingertips. “We haven’t time to waste before we’re interrupted.” She tilted her head, eyebrows raised, “Do you understand me now?”

Rubbing her brow where a headache throbbed, Sandy nodded. 

“Be seated, refresh yourself.” The woman made a graceful gesture, indicating the waiting beverages, “We brought all your favorites.”

Sandy sat. Inside, a tiny voice took umbrage at her own meek demeanor, when she’d clearly been kidnapped and separated from Mark, but she felt an overwhelming sense of peace, lassitude almost. Studying the drinks, she wondered if she’d been drugged, “I’ve never had any of these before, to my knowledge.”

I’ll keep going with this scene for a few more weeks – there’s quite a bit more. Next week I’m going to start working with Fiona Jayde on a cover for this novel.

whirligig nebula

35 comments on “Understand Me Now? Weekend Writing Warriors

  1. Oh if it were only that easy to understand another language I might have passed my college Spanish courses… sigh. Ok, enough about me.

    The mysterious women, her calm and Mark’s status keeps us on the edge, great snippet.

  2. Definitely a sinister tone to the snippet. “Get me out of here” instead she’s been drugged and semi-lucid. Sup er snippet. Some women can be cruel no matter what planet they’re on.
    Re: Your cats. We just inherited another of daughter’s cats just like yours. New adjustments all around. Hugs for the New Year and lots of good health, dear friend.

  3. I love the way the strange woman was able to just flick her head to make her understand the language, almost like an offhand thing. She definitely needs to be cautious here!

  4. Okay, how do I do that finger flick trick? Understanding languages via forehead flick would come in real handy at work. A nice detail that creates a plausible, and yet intriguing way to bring their communication in line. 🙂

  5. Does she say the last line aloud, Veronica? If not, I’d take out the “to my knowledge” because she wouldn’t say that to herself. Great snippet and I love that the other woman flicks her forehead as if to get a translator program to work. 😀

  6. The forehead flick thing was great. I liked this snippet, and can’t help but wonder what they’ll bring her next, and what they want in general! Seems like Sandy should be on her toes…

  7. I’m worried about her of course, but where is Mark? And what about the drinks?
    I’m intrigued and want to know more.

  8. I’m curious about them not having time to waste — but they brought her all her “favorites” as if there is no rush at all. And who or what is going to interrupt them?

  9. Ooh! Sounds like quite a case of mistaken identity – or is it? And that head flicking thing would be likely to give me a headache, too!

    Wonder where Mark is, and if it would be wise for him to mount a rescue…if that’s even a possibility…

    I definitely want more!

  10. Thanks for the comments and I’m glad everyone is enjoying this story so far. I’m really eager to release it but…needs a bit more editing and a cover….and I really want to have Star Cruise: Outbreak get done first. I actually tried the finger flicking on myself when I wrote the passage LOL. To get the feel for descriptive purposes, not to learn this language though!

  11. “I’ve never had any of these before, to my knowledge.” compared to the woman saying they brought all her favorites? I smell trouble. I smell this be some vision of the future, or past life, or…I’m not sure. But there is something definitely visionary going on here in my books. I’m definitely hooked here, love everything about this snippet!

Leave a Reply

