This Is My Fault Weekend Writing Warriors

Warriors logo revisedHere’s the link to the Weekend Writing Warriors central page, so you can visit all the participants sharing excerpts today…a fun way to sample new books and find new authors! (Also welcome to the Sunday Snippet visitors!)

From my new, best selling science fiction romance Star Cruise: Marooned. I’ve skipped a little more byplay between Meg and the Primary guest. Now she’s working with Red to take care of Sharmali’s wound. Meg is speaking to Red:

           “You said the barrier was off?”

            “Must be. There was more than one of these things right in the shallows at the beach. We were lucky no one else got attacked. I got her out of the water as fast as I could so the blood wouldn’t attract other predators.” Red sat on his heels, frowning, holding an inject from the first aid kit, “This is only a generic –  will it work on eel venom?”

            “It’s all we’ve got on the shuttle so it’ll have to hold her until we get to the ship’s sick bay.” Meg eyed the wound with deep misgiving. “This is my fault – I should have known if the ranger station was closed, the barriers might be shut off, but I didn’t check.”

            “Well, keep your voice down, the Primary is pissed off enough right now – don’t add fuel to his fire.”

(I had a couple more readers tell me this week that my book kept them up wayyyyy too late on a work night – mwahahahaha! Seriously, I love the feedback 🙂

MaroonedFinal-FJM_High_Res_1800x2700The Story:

Meg Antille works long hours on the charter cruise ship Far Horizon so she can send credits home to her family. Working hard to earn a promotion to a better post (and better pay), Meg has no time for romance.

Former Special Forces soldier Red Thomsill only took the berth on the Far Horizon in hopes of getting to know Meg better, but so far she’s kept him at a polite distance. A scheduled stopover on the idyllic beach of a nature preserve planet may be his last chance to impress the girl.

But when one of the passengers is attacked by a wild animal it becomes clear that conditions on the lushly forested Dantaralon aren’t as advertised – the ranger station is deserted, the defensive perimeter is down…and then the Far Horizon’s shuttle abruptly leaves without any of them.

Marooned on the dangerous outback world, romance is the least of their concerns, and yet Meg and Red cannot help being drawn to each other once they see how well they work together. But can they survive long enough to see their romance through? Or will the wild alien planet defeat them, ending their romance and their lives before anything can really begin?

Buy Links: Amazon     iBooks     Kobo     Barnes & Noble            

43 comments on “This Is My Fault Weekend Writing Warriors

  1. My chief concern is if there’s predators in the water *eww – eels* what’s waiting for them between the beach and the transport ship? Great snippet Veronica. I definitely want to read more.

  2. Ooh nice tension here! She’s bound to have regrets since somebody got a serious injury. But will they get to the ship without anything else happening?

  3. I read this on vacation and it’s WONDERFUL, Veronica! I was at the last chapter when we landed and it killed me to stop reading so I could get off the plane. 😀

  4. And things keep on stacking up: the ranger station, the lack of responses from the ship and now wild and dangerous animals. *cue Jaws theme music* I wonder what will happen next;). Great snippet!

  5. The sick bay of a ship that’s not talking to them. I really want to see how this plays out. And I want to know where everyone is — the rangers, the other shuttle…

  6. Seriously, I’m with P.T. here, where IS everyone? Why are they almost abandoned? But yes, let’s not add any fuel to the Primary’s fire. Well… At least until the “argue later” part happens. 😉 Great snippet, I’d feel guilty if I was Meg, too.

Leave a Reply

