Violets in the Snow for Weekend Writing Warriors

WeWriWa buttonA fun way to sample new books and find new writers! Here’s the link to the Weekend Writing Warriors central page, so you can visit all the participants sharing excerpts today…

This week something totally different. For Valentine’s Day my Here Be Magic paranormal group wrote short stories around a heart-shaped box meme and here are the opening sentences from mine:

It was just a little heart-shaped china box, with one gorgeous violet painted on the lid. Every day as she walked past the window of Celia’s Closet on her way to work, Amy would check to see if the box was still there, nestled in the corner of the display. Sure, violets were her favorite flower, but something about the tiny container itself appealed to her.

                Celia’s store was crammed to the rafters with knick knacks, vintage clothing and fashion jewelry of every era, but Amy rarely allowed herself to venture inside. She never had extra money to spend and certainly not on decorative dust catchers. But yesterday at the diner someone had left her an unusually large tip and today Amy found herself turning to enter the enticing store without even thinking about it.

                “Did you come for the violet box?” asked Celia as soon as she saw who’d walked in.

                Stripping off her purple mittens, Amy did a doubletake, “How did you know?”

For my story, I did a riff on the legend of the King of Winter and a girl named Violet, which was a European variation on Hades and Persephone. Only 1800 words…..

heart shaped box(We put the resulting anthology up for free on Smashwords under our group pen name Hera B. Magic.)

Thank you , everyone, for all the good wishes last week on my medical situation. I’m sorry I couldn’t return comments but this week I’m going to do my best to get around to all the posts. Still adapting to the medications and side effects, but very grateful not to have had a stroke.

I wrote about my experience, mostly as a public service announcement on the symptoms of a possible stroke, because I had certainly never known before that suddenly going blind in one eye could be such a symptom. I didn’t have a stroke, thank goodness, but I was very VERY lucky.  “If You Suddenly Lose the Vision in One Eye”

Hugs to all the Weekend Writing Warriors!

 

 

37 comments on “Violets in the Snow for Weekend Writing Warriors

  1. It sounds like a charming story. As usual, I love all your details.

    Glad you’re feeling better. I have a scar on my right cornea, and hope I never have to know what it’s like to lose vision in my weaker eye!

  2. I could picture the scene so clearly. As for “How did you know?” I’m hedging either psychic powers, or she’d seen her gazing at the box through the window every day for a month 🙂

  3. Thanks for the good wishes, which I really appreciate. Today is going better than yesterday but I’m finding I really have to pace myself. Glad everyone is enjoying a change of pace excerpt from me. It was just a very short story, which I probably could have made into a much longer one…maybe someday!

  4. Let me first start by saying how glad I am that you’ve been checked and scanned and poked and prodded so thoroughly because your health is the most important thing in the world. Just read your previous post about the ordeal. Can’t imagine how frightening it must have been, but thank God for doctors and all the advances in the field of medicine that helped to detect your problem. *hugs* Your public service announcement has been duly noted. 🙂

    Now, re. this new story: Love, love, LOVE it! Celia sounds like such a fabulous, magical character. So looking forward to more!

  5. I’m thinking that the store and storekeeper are much more than they appear to be and that the charming little box holds some mysterious power. Very intriguing, great snippet.

  6. I have thought abut maybe doing a series with Cecelia and her shop at some point. She doesn’t appear all that much in this (very) short story but there are endless possibilities in the store. Thanks again for all the warm comments today! Felt good to be back in the swing of things with the Weekend Writing Warriors!

    • Wow, I’m so sorry to hear that, hope you get to go home soon. Three days in the hospital wore me out, can’t imagine eight. And still counting, it sounds like? Yes, it’s all good research (especially my oh-so-handsome night nurse 😉 I hope they’re taking good care of you. HUGS!

  7. For some reason I’m getting a Twilight Zone vibe from this. I feel like there are so many possibilities for the next few lines. I’m definitely intrigued about the box, and why it’s so special!

    I hope you are feeling better! I read your story about losing the vision in one eye, and that sounds really scary D: I’ve been in the hospital for several hip surgeries, but I wasn’t really in danger of dying, so something completely different. I had all female nurses, lol.

  8. I loved this. I’m like your main character–wanting to know what’s in that box. You were great with description (I could picture everything: what the box looked like, the yearning in the character’s eyes as she glances through the window). Great job! I even liked that the cashier (or owner of the store?) knew what was on her mind as she walked in.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

