D Is For Dragon Definitely

???????????????????????????????
There’s no other word that pops up in my head for the letter “D” right now other than dragon! I love dragons and it always makes me very happy to have been born in a Year of the Dragon, according to the Chinese Zodiac.

???????????????????????????????This imposing fellow to the left  is named “Morte”  because the moment I saw him, he seemed fierce and take-no-prisoners. He’s a Windstone Dragon from a line by Artist Melody Pena…I have several in other colors and poses but Morte is my favorite. And he’s purple/blue!

My favorite dragons in literature are from the Dragon Riders of Pern series by Anne McCaffrey. I show a ???????????????????????????????few in the photo but I have all of them squirreled away in the bookcase. “All the Weyrs of Pern” is my favorite, although discovering the first one, “Dragonflight” and its heroine Lessa of Ruatha, was one of those amazing moments in life. My favorite story from the entire series is a short story “The Littlest Dragon Rider.” I stopped reading them when her son began writing them, or co-writing them, or whatever it was supposed to be. I gave it a chance – two books with his name on them – and then I was done. The series was over for me, but I still go back and reread the originals.

I’ve come to enjoy Smaug, in Peter Jackson’s “The Hobbit” movies, as he slithers around and through and under the mountains of gold, uttering gorgeous dialog in Benedict Cumberbatch’s voice. I don’t care for the fact that he’s so bad though.

And if you asked my grandson, the best dragon of all is Toothless from the a animated movie “How To Train Your Dragon.” Having watched this movie a number of times with GS, I wouldn’t necessarily disagree. There’s a certain very lovable catlike quality to Toothless!

???????????????????????????????

More A to Z challenge next week! (Yes, I know everyone else in the world finished theirs in April but I’m marching to my own drummer….Dragon here!)

 

5 comments on “D Is For Dragon Definitely

  1. Anne McCaffrey is one of the three I think has the strongest influence on my own writing, along with Andre Norton and Mercedes Lackey. But I agree with you that the life went out of the series when her son took over.

    • I have to agree with you – Andre Norton is probably one of THE biggest influences on me but Anne McC would be next! I just never have read all that much of Ms. Lackey somehow…

Leave a Reply

