My SciFi Encounter Today Is With Nalini Singh

HEAI’m interviewing author Nalini Singh today over at USA Today’s Happily Ever After Blog for my “Sci-Fi Encounters” column.  Ms. Singh is at the top of my personal Must Read List and everything comes to a stop in my household when she releases a new book in either series (or a new series LOL). I’m a huge fan of both her Psy/Changeling and Guild Hunter series, which feature amazing world building. I also have a not-so-secret crush on more than one of her characters LOL.

Heart of ObsidianHeart of Obsidian ( June 4, 2013) was her most recent book in the Psy/Changeling series and over at the HEA blog she gives us a few hints about the next book, Shield of Winter, coming June 5, 2014.  Heart of Obsidian was just nominated for a RITA award yesterday by the Romance Writers of America, so congratulations to Ms. Singh!

And best wishes to all the other nominees in various categories…

My introduction to the world of the Psy/Changelings was a short story,  “Stroke of Enticement” (2008), which has appeared in several anthologies and is currently available in the collection of other Psy/Changeling short stories, Wild Invitation. (Here’s the amazon link for the book.) The short story blurb from the publisher is as follows: ” …a wary young teacher, skeptical about love, arouses the man–and the animal–in an aggressive leopard changeling who must prove his affections are true. ” It was HOT and sexy and sweet…I immediately began reading the entire series, starting with the first book. Just a note about the intricacy of her series plotting – there’s a tiny fact in this 2008 short story that pays off in Heart of Obsidian, five years later in real time. It’s not a giant plot point but I have to say I was delighted when I read it, because I’d always wondered what the answer was.

But back to today’s column at HEA, I’m also recommending a few other, relatively recent novels as I do, and I give my movie recommendation, so please drop on by!

4 comments on “My SciFi Encounter Today Is With Nalini Singh

Leave a Reply

