Weekend Writing Warriors Lady Tiya Explains Herself

better wewriwaContinuing on with WARRIOR OF THE NILE, to be released on September 16th. Here’s an excerpt where Tiya is answering some questions about herself from Khenet, as they journey down the Nile. (A bit of creative editing and punctuation has occurred today to make this eight sentences LOL):

 “Unlike my older brother, the priest you met in Thebes, I didn’t receive the calling to serve in the temple. I don’t wear a ram’s wool garland, play a tambourine, or carry statues of the goddess through the street in processions during the high festivals.”

            “You sound relieved,” he said shrewdly.

             “I’m more interested in the life here, day to day, not the Afterlife or the doings of the Great Ones. I’d make a poor priestess, I fear.” Lady Tiya brushed the crumbs off her lap. “I was more intrigued by my father’s businesses, his farms, the granaries. I brought some papyrus and inks in my bag to sketch the scenery we’re sailing past – I always longed to travel, to see more than the area close by Thebes – be careful what you wish for, I guess.”

???????????????????????????????

 love and appreciate your comments and feedback every week! Go here  to find all the other Weekend Writing Warriors and read  an amazing variety of  terrific excerpts…

And the blurb for WARRIOR OF THE NILE (which is available on Netgalley now for reviewers BTW):

Egypt, 1500 BCE

Lady Tiya is bound to the service of the goddess Nephthys, who plans to sacrifice Tiya’s body to protect Egypt from an ancient terror. She embarks to meet her grim fate alone but for the hardened warrior Khenet, who is fated to die at her side. Tiya’s dreams of love and family now seem impossible, and Khenet, who is the last of his line, knows his culture will die with him. Struggling with the high cost of Nephthys’s demands, both resolve to remain loyal.

Neither expects the passion that flowers when Tiya’s quiet courage and ethereal beauty meet Khenet’s firm strength and resolve. On a boat down the Nile, their two lonely souls find in each other a reason to live. But time is short and trust elusive.

Without the willing sacrifice of Tiya and Khenet, a great evil will return to Egypt. How could the gods demand their deaths when they’ve only just begun to live?

33 comments on “Weekend Writing Warriors Lady Tiya Explains Herself

  1. She seems slightly out of the role that has been chosen for her. I like the last sentence “Be careful what you wished for”, had she wishes to be a priestess, would they have send her away to her death too?

  2. I like seeing a bit of their interaction. I also like that she thought about the trip and hopes to continue her interest in farms by sketching. Nice insight into her character and even his, a bit.

  3. I enjoyed this excerpt. Both characters sound courageous and well-suited for each other. Your creative punctuation helped the scene have tension, texture and depth enough to draw me in.

  4. I’m glad people are enjoying hearing Tiya speak up, finally, right? One thing I quite like about Ancient Egypt is that the women had an unusual-for-the-times amount of respect and ability to do things in their own right. So I’ve stretched things a bit with Tiya and her interest and involvement in her father’s businesses, but not too far. Women could and did inherit property, run businesses…all part of why I like this general time frame in Egypt to place my stories.

    I really am excited for this book to be released – only a few more week’s of excerpts to go!

    Then maybe I’ll switch to excerpts from Dancer of the Nile, my late October release.Unless the Weekend Writing Warriors get tired of Egypt LOL. Then I’d have to offer you some science fiction…

  5. I’ve been obsessed with Egypt since I was very young and I really like the setting you’ve created. *adds books to her To Read list* -> In other words: nicely done!

  6. I’m wondering whether Nephthys is aware of her servants’ attitudes—is she in for rude awakening or smug satisfaction?

    And do I really have to wait until September to find out?

  7. Sorry I’m late reading this. I’ve been out of town at a Vampire Diaries convention and thought I would have better internet access than I did. LOVE this snippet. Oh wow. I an feel the promise of intrigue and emotion. You must have done a great deal of research to write this one. Great concept. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

