Weekend Writing Warriors Farewell to the Shifters For Now

better wewriwa(Please scroll down to the next post below if you came for the the SFR Out of This World Blog Hop!)

Today is the final excerpt from my Shifter and Girl-With-A-Secret story but I’m happy to report I’m well underway on completing the first draft I had abandoned until all of you lovely Warriors encouraged me to pick it back up. I’ll keep you posted when the novel is done and published, I promise!

Caitlyn has persuaded the shifters from the North to meet secretly with Kyle and her outside the city. Kyle was curiously reluctant to fall in with her plan but eventually does accompany her to the river. This excerpt is at the end of that meeting (and I really do have to stop here, not only because I’m actively working on the novel but because it all gets spoiler-y after this scene). Since this is my last excerpt from the book, I cheated a bit and provided ten sentences.  Kyle and Kellan argue over several things during the meeting and finally Kyle says:

         “Kellan, although I’m grateful to know the Pack hasn’t forgotten me, let us have no more fruitless discussion.”

His brother stared at him for a long minute, hands clenched at his sides as if to force the leopard’s claws to stay hidden. “Allow me to station a man here, out of sight in these woods, to assist you.”

Kyle paused, momentarily tempted by the offer, but then he shook his head. “Caitlyn needs protection inside the palace, where no shapeshifter but myself can walk.”

“We’ll be away to the North then – take care of yourself, little brother.”

The two men hugged, pounding each other on the back for a moment. After bowing to Caitlyn, Kellan shifted to leopard form, disappearing into the dappled forest shadows as he left the clearing.

Twirling a leaf in her hand, she rose from her perch on the riverbank and studied Kyle’s face as she walked to meet him.

Reaching to enfold her in his arms, he said, “Thank you for making me come to meet them today.”

 ?????????????????

 love and appreciate your comments and feedback! Not sure what I’ll post from next week, Ancient Egyptian paranormal maybe. Go here  to find all the other Weekend Writing Warriors and read  an amazing variety of  terrific excerpts…

30 comments on “Weekend Writing Warriors Farewell to the Shifters For Now

  1. Fabulous, as always, Veronica! Best of luck with finishing this story! Can’t wait to hear the news when it becomes published!! 🙂

  2. I’m sad that this the last we’ll get to see of them. Loved the moment with the moment between the brothers. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I like his comment to her at the end. A guy can be strong and manly and all that, but sometimes he needs to admit what he’s thinking. Nice job.

  4. Love this scene! I especially like the way I get the sense of him being a shifter! You do a great job of really bringing that to life. I can’t wait to read the whole thing!

  5. Thank you for the kind words today. I’m working away on the novel as rapidly as I can, I promise. I’ve always had a very special fondness for these two characters so I’m really grateful to the Weekend Writing Warriors for encouraging me to get back to work and FIX this novel LOL. Next week will be an excerpt from something different but I might do a few more Kyle & Caitlyn snippets later this year when it’s ready to be published (either by me or someone 🙂 .

  6. I wonder why he wouldn’t even allow a man outside. Could come in handy if things do go wayward on the inside. But I’m hoping he knows what he’s doing and that he won’t need his brother’s help after sending him away so recently.

Leave a Reply

