Titanic Giveaway:Grand Prize Includes Coal Salvaged from Wreck

TitanicIn order to commemorate the 101st anniversary of the tragic sinking of the Titanic, I’ve put together what I think is an unusual Giveaway.

Grand Prize is a  reproduction of a Titanic Third Class Coffee Mug plus a pea-sized piece of coal salvaged from the actual wreck more than two miles below the surface of the Atlantic Ocean (Certificate of Authenticity included for the coal), an autographed copy of my award winning novel science fiction novel WRECK OF THE NEBULA DREAM (which is loosely based on the Titanic) and a $10 Amazon gift card. The coal is presented with a miniature reproduction of the New York Times  front page reporting the catastrophe. (See photos)

003(I should note that the coal is the only item the RMS Titanic, Inc. company is allowed to salvage from the site of the shipwreck and sell to the general public. And, very important, this is a tiny piece of coal.  The closeup photo below is much larger than the actual nugget, which is mounted at the bottom of the miniature NYT reproduction.)

I’ll also will award  one $10 Amazon gift card each  to the 2nd and 3rd place winners.

Please leave a comment below to be entered for the drawing, all winners randomly selected. Giveaway is open April 8th through the 14th. I’ll announce the winners on April 15th.

Comments can relate to Titanic, movie/TV shows/books  about the disaster…some other disaster at sea…a disaster you’ve experienced…anything relating to the theme in some way!

The mug does have a normal style handle on the opposite side from the White Star insignia but it’s completely boring to photograph…

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

23 comments on “Titanic Giveaway:Grand Prize Includes Coal Salvaged from Wreck

  1. I didn’t know you could get a piece of coal from the actual titanic. That’s cool. I love watching Titanic. It really does show how things might have been on the ship. I think the ending is very sad and it’s hard to watch thinking that’s what happened to the people on the real titanic.

  2. It must have been a horrible experience being trapped on the lower levels of the Titanic. Imagine hearing all the screams, knowing that your stuck and there isn’t a way out, and just seeing the water rise to your impending doom.

  3. Oh my son is OBSESSED with the Titanic. We went to the Titanic exhibit this past weekend and he would have bought the entire gift shop if *I* could have afforded it. At nine, his allowance is controlled by mama.

  4. Hi Veronica. My husband is a SCUBA instructor. Quite a while back, he was invited by the owner of the dive store he instructed through, to attend a presentation in Pgh given by Robert Ballard. It wasn’t too, too long after the discovery of the Titanic. My husband still goes on about it, the photos, the videos he showed while describing what the audience was seeing. It broke his heart to hear that there were locked gates in steerage–condemning many to not even having a chance.

  5. ohh now I’m completely intrigued. A real piece of coal from the ship! That’s a super special item. (the mug is pretty cool too–I love that logo, though it represents such a low point in US history)

    Disasters: my mother said that she used to have premonitions of bad things up until sometime in her early adulthood. She basically trained herself out of them because she couldn’t stand it. I’ve heard of several people who had premonitions that the Titanic would sink: what a mighty burden that must have been for those folks when it finally happened.

  6. I have always been fascinated by all things Titanic. I especially like the artifacts and wonder about the stories attached to them. A story that is particularly touching is the band members who played until the very end. So sad and yet inspiring. I would like to visit a Titanic-themed museum one day to see the items up close.

  7. Sometimes I feel like a wreck! 😉
    DH is a certified diver. He once got trapped during a dive, in a wreck off of North Carolina.
    Love your book!!

  8. Not sure if my comment got thru so I’m trying again. If it’s a dupe, just delete one. 🙂

    My husband is a scuba diver & once got caught in a wreck off the coast in North Carolia. He got out, of course.

    Fabulous book! 🙂

  9. I watch the movie titanic every single day! i know that it is 3 hours 14 minutes and 51 seconds long i can skip to any part of the movie and know the next line by heart. I also research the real titanic and know everything about it as well. I am honestly obsessed with titanic it would mean so much to win.

  10. Wow, so neat! I didn’t even know they had that with the nugget. To think too after 101 years and the movies and books and the like tha relate or based on has made more awareness about this. I know for me I learned so much more about it after the movie was out and reading some romance withe this piece of history in any way related into the books. I have to confess, I didn’t see the whole movie yet because i had in VHS and it ad broken and never was able to finish watching it. Which I so must now! I’m sure its on netflix and all over! My daughter has watched it many times so I think she’ll be delighted to come visit and watch it with me some weekend soon! Beautiful contest! Thanks for the awesome giveaway. Would love to be in the contest! Thanks!

    Cathie

  11. I have to admit, I’ve never seen the Titanic movie, but one of the coolest things about my trip to Alaska was getting to see real-life icebergs. It was fascinating to imagine trying to navigate through them. I think it’s brilliant to use this as the inspiration for your SF book, although hopefully it has a happier ending.

  12. What an amazing giveaway! I’m a huge fan of this type of history. I feel kind of guilty for my fascination with disasters but the stories are such an impassioned mix of miracle and heartbreak it’s hard not to want to know everything. Several years ago in my teens my parents and I visited Mt. St. Helens and the trees were all still laying over like match sticks (all blown over away from the blast site) and the entire landscape was gray–no grass, no leaves, no brown on the tree trunks. Outside of the visitor area parking lot (which was landscaped), there was no color whatsoever. And I remember looking over the crater–actually looking inside the volcano–and having this sense of disbelief of what happened there. I think it’s that connection I love so much. We can never truly experience history as it was, but to stand on the same ground brings forth such a strong sense of being. As for the Titanic, as “Hollywood” as the movie is, I think it really connects people with the disaster. It humanized the story, and that’s seldom a bad thing. (Only now between Titanic and The Perfect Storm I am terrified of losing sight of land in our boat, LOL!)

  13. I’ve been interested in Titanic history for awhile. One of the books I’m using for an upcoming presentation in my Children’s Lit class is about a young boy who survives the sinking. I also read a novel in verse about the Titanic for the YA Lit class I took last semester, Allan Wolf’s The Watch That Ends the Night. It was one of the best books I read last year. I also think it’s kind of neat that two of the three dogs who survived the Titanic were Pomeranians, my favorite breed. One of the two Poms was reputed to be the longest-lived Pom on record, into her twenties.

  14. We’re also really fascinated by the Titanic in our house – so interesting how this one event has prompted so many people to write books, plays, movies etc. I’d love to win.

Leave a Reply

