Character Interview: Sasha from CAUGHT IN AMBER by Cathy Pegau

Caught_In _Amber_final - CopyWelcome to the blog today, Sasha James (and her author Cathy Pegau)! Before we get to the interview – which is so revealing, folks, even the Author sez she learned some new things about our Heroine LOL – here’s the book blurb:

Recently out of rehab, Sasha James is determined to keep her head down, complete her parole, and never touch amber again. The chip in her neck controls her cravings for the highly addictive drug, but also tracks her every move. Not that she goes anywhere other than work and the halfway house she calls home—a far cry from her luxurious former life as lover of the mining colony’s top drug dealer, Guy Christiansen.

Agent Nathan Sterling has no desire to see Sasha fall back into amber, but his sister has become Guy’s latest conquest and the unexpectedly attractive Sasha is the key to getting her back. So in exchange for an introduction, he offers Sasha the one thing she can’t refuse—her freedom. From the chip, her parole, and even the planet if she wants. Though he would be sorry to see her go…

Torn between her growing attraction to Nathan, fear of Guy and the allure of amber, Sasha accepts. But who will save her if Guy refuses to let her go a second time?

And now the questions:

What was your life like growing up? Better than I realized. As a kid and young teen, I thought my parents were too strict, the town we lived in too boring and my life headed nowhere. Being the oldest daughter of mercantile owners in a tiny mining town, I was expected to help at the store and eventually marry another business owner’s kid. So twentieth century! Instead, I ran away to the big city, Pandalus, with my friend Jess when I was sixteen. After a couple of years of nowhere jobs and frequent parties, we became friends with some people who knew Guy Christiansen. I lost track of Jess. I hope she’s okay.

Yeah, looking back, running away wasn’t such a good idea.

Before the action in the book, what were your plans/hopes for the future? Ha! Plans and hopes? Before the story started, I just wanted to get out from under the Corrections Department’s thumb and forget I’d ever met Guy Christiansen. Staying sober, finding a decent job and keeping my head down were all I cared about. I couldn’t see much beyond finishing parole. Whatever happened after that had to be better, right?

What changed that? Nathan Sterling. He asked me to do something for him that I never thought I’d have the guts to do. But he needed my help. How could I turn down a man trying to keep his kid sister from becoming what I became? Okay, the offer of getting that damn ID chip deactivated was a huge incentive too. I’m not a goody-goody who will put herself in danger for nothing.

How would you describe your personality? Guarded optimism. I think good things can happen, but I’ve learned that you have to be ready for the not so good things.

Do you have a motto or code you live by? When I was partying in Pandalus with Guy, it was “Live life to the fullest.” In rehab it became “One day at a time.” Now, I’m back to “Live life to the fullest,” but I have a better sense of what that means.

What one thing would you take to a desert island? When I was at the NCRC (Nevarro Correctional Rehabilitation Center) I read a lot, if there wasn’t some sort of “life skills” class or work program to attend. Reading let me forget where I was. It gave me a chance to escape reality for a little while. So I’d take my comm and as many book sticks as I could carry.

Where would you go on vacation? Nevarro is such a cold place, I’d really like to find a warmer planet. Pacifica has great beaches. 1412454_33689155Weaver is nice and hot, though maybe too hot. I’d go for the beach.

What is your most distinguishing characteristic? Physically, I don’t think I’m all that distiguishable from a thousand other redheads. Otherwise, my determination may be my most distinguishable characteristic.

What is your major skill or talent? *laughs* I went from tending the till at my parents’ store to partying to rehab to tending the till at a Revivalist market. I can make change for a one-hundred credit chit in my head. Does that count as a skill or talent? At the NCRC I took some cooking and business classes. I can make a mean beef stew without using the Compu-Chef.

What’s your favorite color? Favorite food? I can tell you my LEAST favorite color is amber *winks* I’m partial to blues and greens. Very soothing. Food-wise, I prefer things that can be made by hand, particularly mac and cheese. The Compu-Chef is convenient, but working in the fresh foods-only Revivalist market gave me an appreciation for preparing meals from scratch.

If you had to pick another career, what would it be? Since I never really had a career to begin with, I should probably pick one. Owning my own shop, maybe. *laughs and shakes head* The very thing I ran away from.

What’s on your bucket list? Reconciliation with my family. They pretty much disowned me when I hooked up with Guy. But I miss them. Nathan has reminded me how important family is, but they have to want to reconcile. I don’t know if that’ll ever happen.

Zombieland-amber-heard-19920117-1280-544Which actor or actress would you want to play you in the movie? According to Cathy, I look a lot like Amber Heard. She’s prettier than I think I am.

Who are your closest friends? Jules, another parolee and a dancer at a club I like to go to. They serve killer empanadas. She and I roomed together at the halfway house. We had a lot in common and talking to her is like being with Jess again.

Who do you love? Nathan. And myself more than I used to. That sort of sounds conceited, doesn’t it? It’s not that I think I’m wonderful and perfect. Far from it. But Nathan has taught me that I’m worth loving, which is the best gift anyone can give another.

What are your future plans? I’ll be taking classes while staying with Nathan. Maybe we’ll get married? Maybe more? I don’t know. Right now, I’m happy and loved and love him back. I can see us together forever, but I need to make up for lost time. I want to become the me I always thought I could be.

Question for you, Dear Readers: what kind of heroines do you most enjoy in your science fiction?

If the interview has intrigued you, here are the Buy Links!

Carina Amazon Barnes & Noble Audible

One comment on “Character Interview: Sasha from CAUGHT IN AMBER by Cathy Pegau

Leave a Reply

