Wednesday Whimsy – Glamour & “Glamouflage”

So usually my Wednesday Whimsy is a series of quotes and illustrations on some topic that caught my fancy, and I will get to that but I was delighted today to fall over the term “glamouflage” in an article I was reading.  The word was defined by June Ambrose, celebrity stylist, as “…When you use a bold piece to shield a part of your appearance…” and I realized that MY “glamouflage” is my addiction to large earrings (which I’ve talked about on this blog before)….which I started doing a long time ago, wayyyy before this  delightful piece of urban slang arose, because I was always convinced my ears stuck out too much! Here is my most recent vintage acquisition:

This is also a good week for the topic of glamour, given all the recent awards shows and red carpet glitter….here come the quotes and photos:

“I don’t think I could live without hair, makeup and styling, let alone be the performer I am. I am a glamour girl through and through. I believe in the glamorous life and I live one. ” Lady GaGa

“Glamour is what I sell, it’s my stock in trade.” Marlene Dietrich

“I don’t mind the sparkle – I think it’s kind of a tradition in skating. I don’t think the men really need sparkles, but for the women it’s part of the glamour of our sport. ” Kristi Yamaguchi

“It’s the most unglamourous glamour business in the world.” Minnie Pearl

“The glamour of it all! New York! America!” Charlie Chaplin

“Romance is the glamour which turns the dust of everyday life into a golden haze. “
Carolyn Gold Heilbrun

And I always like to finish with something Egyptian-themed, in honor of my Tales of the Nile – so here are  two ladies who epitomize glamour in their own way…..

What’s your favorite piece of glamouflage?


2 comments on “Wednesday Whimsy – Glamour & “Glamouflage”

Leave a Reply

