New Year Blog Hop – Over 60 Chances to Win! Favorite New Year Memory Time!

Just leave a comment below to be entered in the random drawing for the New Year Blog Hop – the prize here at MY blog only will be a $25.00 Amazon gift card, chosen by random drawing after midnight January 5th.

Over 60 authors and reviewers are going to talk about their favorite New Year Memory! What does that mean for you? Well we are giving away gift cards, books, and other swag goodies throughout the day! Each author will chose their own winner – so that means over 60 winners! And you can win on multiple pages!

And the best thing? We have TWO Grand prizes.  You will be entered in the Grand Prize drawings **each** time you comment on a different participating Blog. So enter once on my blog, then visit as many of the other blogs as you please and enter the Grand Prize drawing at each one.

One being a Kindle Fire to a lucky winner!

Our second grand prize is a $80 Amazon GC!

 

Living in Southern California, I have many New Year’s memories centered around the Rose Parade – going to it, my daughters helping decorate the floats, watching one of the local floats being built every day on my drive to work between Christmas and New Year’s…but a memory that really stands out was the first year they had the B2 stealth bomber fly over the parade. Not only did they do practice runs at tree top level in the long, wide arroyo behind my day job a few days before….. on the day of the Parade, they flew directly over my house (at a higher altitude). VERY exciting and thrilling.

Please share your favorite New Year memory below to be entered in my random drawing and the Grand Prize drawing! Best Wishes for a  terrific 2012!

75 comments on “New Year Blog Hop – Over 60 Chances to Win! Favorite New Year Memory Time!

  1. i hve alot of memories for new yrs honestly its hard to chose one really this year iw as to sick tor eally enjoy it but i loved every moment i spentw ith my better half while cuddled up and just talking like the first new yrs we ever spentt as a couple was great ty for the chance

    mortalsinn(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  2. Three years ago I was a waitress and I’d requested New Years off because I had plans with my then boyfriend. We were supposed to be going to this big party with all of our friends. I’d just bought a new dress for the party and everything. Well I ended up not only NOT getting the day off but working from open to close (thank goodness they closed early that night). I was so tired when I got out of work that I didn’t even call the boyfriend just went straight home and showered. When I was done I climbed into bed and of COURSE the phone rings. I’m cussing up a storm when I answer and when I go to take a breath the boyfriend blurts out “Will you marry me.” My brain doesn’t register and so I asked “what?” He repeats himself then tells me to get my ass outside. I dropped my phone and ran out the front door to him down on one knee with two dozen of my favorite flowers. May of this year will be our three year anniversary.

    a_breen87@yahoo(dot)com

  3. I’m not someone that likes to party so my best memories are being with my family. These days I don’t get to do that as often as I like.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  4. I would love to spend a New Years somewhere warm and in short sleeves. Usually wet and cold and not much fun being out and about.
    linze_e at hotmail.com

  5. My most memorable New Years was in 1999 when I drank too many screwdrivers and had to take an ice cold shower. Since then, I have settled down and was married in 2001. Now I just stay home with my wife and my little girl. Thanks for entering me and Happy New Year. Arthur. highwayman99c@Aol.com

  6. I always have a quiet New Years just reflecting on the way things has gone the previous year 🙂

    christinetoney (at) hotmail (dot) com

  7. One of my favorite new year memory was some years ago when for the first time my dog discovered he got present. We were thinking he would destroy the wrapping to get what was inside quickly but it was the opposite. He took his gift on his cushion and strated with his pawn very carefully trying to open it. It was really cute (even if the end i decided to help him since he took him a long time without good results) seeing jumping around like a baby after we feared loosing him made that morning magical

    isabelle(dot)frisch(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. I spend each one at home with my family watching the ball drop on tv. We usually watch the Rose parade on tv also.

    amysmith98 @ gmail.com

  9. Nothing exicitng or thrilling ever happened to me on New Years. I used to work for the time and a half and now, like when I was a child, we stay home as a family and eat good food and watch movies. I actually enjoy the quietness of it.

    acm05atjuno.com

  10. Oh man, having a stealth bomber fly directly over your house would be awesome (so long as it’s, you know, just for show lol). My favorite new year’s memory might be this last one. Quiet one at home watching movies with my daughter while my husband glowed in the dark with his glow sticks =P

    mihoxli at gmail dot com

  11. Favorite recent New Year’s memory, spending it in our new home. Watching the Rose parade is a favorite in our house.

    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  12. My favorite New Year memory would be this year.. I had a party with all my friends and we were so involved in a game we almost missed the ball drop.. We turned the channel just in time for everyone to share a new years kiss.. not with each other of course haha

    Dprissypunk(at)gamil(dot)com

  13. When I was a kid (ages ago) my mom and I used to stay over at my aunt’s house for New Years. My cousins and I would have a blast popping firecrackers, and just hanging out.

    jmesparza821(at)gmail(dot)com

  14. My favorite New Years memories are from playing board games and cards at my brother’s house on New Year’s eve.
    Crystal816[at]hotmail[dot]com

  15. I have never been one to stay awake to bring in the New Year – but when I was 21 years old, my best friend drug me out with her husband and friends to a pub to a New Year’s Eve party that was really quite fun, so I’d have to choose that one, since it was my only experience *chuckle*
    Thank you so much for the giveaway chance!

    Gena Robertson
    robertsongena@hotmail.com

  16. I posted this on another, but it still remains my most memorable New Years Eve.

    My most memorable New Years Eve was this year, no doubt. My family all got together and went to church where they were doing their annual game night to ring in the New Year. It started at 6 pm, and about 8:30 my mom comes up to me asking me where the bathroom is. I showed her where it was and then went back to my game. A few minutes passed and I noticed she hadn’t come out yet, so I started to go check on her when I saw her come out. She comes up to me and sits down beside me, whispering, “I locked myself in and couldn’t get out.” After questioning her a little, I found out she had locked the stall door (not the main door) and had to crawl beneath the door to get out. I asked her if she was okay, and she said, “Yeah! The preacher’s wife came in while I was crawling under. She helped me up.” *Sigh* I went in there to crawl back under and “Unlock” it…only to discover I have NO idea how she managed to do it. (My family has big chested women, lol) So I came back out & got my nephew, who is 21. He went in there with me and I stood at the door so no one would go in there. He crawled under and unlocked it. Just as he was walking out the door, a little boy (about 5) came up to the door and said very loudly, “Samuel! What are you doing in the girls bathroom?” Then he just started laughing. That’s when I found the humor in the situation and I began laughing along with him, while Samuel was turning beet red. 🙂

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    May God bless,
    Trisha Wilson
    TrishaWilson79@gmail.com

  17. All my favorite new years memories are the same; it doesn’t matter were I was as long as i’m with friends and family 🙂

    ~jennifer

    wocaworld{at}gmail{dot}com

  18. Wow that is awesome! I love watching when the planes fly overhead. Thanks for the great prize. This is a awesome blog hop! christina_92 at yahoo.com

  19. Hm.. well my birthday is on New Years eve so I have ALOT of random stories. But my best might have to be this year. My bf and I went to are friend Rob’s house and we were playing on his wii. Well for some reason probably since we had already started to drink, decided that we were going to bowl, and with every spare that you didnt make have to take a shot. Well normally I’m a pretty good wii bowler. But yea lets just say I think i did 7 out of 10 shots on that game. That doesnt even count are frisbee game! LOL So it was a fun night. Thanks so much for the giveaway!
    -Amber
    goodblinknpark@yahoo.com

  20. I dont have alot of new years memories. We dont really celebrate it. This year, we watched movies, ate snacks and had a drink or two. It was fun and nice to just laze around and enjoy. 😉 Happy new year!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  21. My favorite New Years memory is from about 20 tears ago. It was the first one for my husband and myself. We were all dressed, ready to go out and we both fell asleep and didn’t wake up until after midnight. We kissed and went back to sleep.

    e.balinski(at)att(dot)net

  22. My New Years are all spent with family. This year, I spent it with my sister and 2 of her kids. We just hung out, watched a zombie marathon on TV. Kind-of goofy, but fun.
    June
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

  23. New Years Eve is a special time for us because it was when my hubby proposed to me, waayy back when. We prefer a quiet celebration, just the two of us, a bowl of popcorn, snuggle time on the couch, and a great movie to watch.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

  24. My favorite NYE memory was my first one in Chicago. The fireworks downtown were gorgeous especially when they were reflected in Lake Michigan.

  25. Many years ago, for New Year’s Eve, my husband and I went out to dinner and spent a quiet evening at home listening to our favorite music and looking at photo box from the year. Looking at all of the pictures of our family from the past year and reminiscing about all we had done during the past year.

    Lori

    knitrix29 at gmail dot com

  26. 2009 all 3 of my kids finally made it past the midnight mark. We had a blast with bonfire and wonderful friends.

    brbalway(at)yahoo(dot)com

  27. I grew up in Philadelphia and I really miss the Mummers Parade. I remember no matter how cold it was we spent the day on Broad St watching them go by. Hanging with friends and then trying to get warm again.

    musicalfrog at comcast.net

  28. I like just relaxing with the hubby eating good food, playing games or watching something special. Thanks for the giveaway!

    geschumann at live dot com

  29. My favorite new year’s ever memory is from my childhood, when my parents took my sister and me to the capital just to see the firework. I was so happy – I hadn’t traveled that much before and we all liked it.
    Thanks for the giveaway and happy new year!
    creature-in-night@hotmail.com

  30. One year I went with my family and close friends to a Japanese hibachi grill on New Years. It is not exactly typical to go out for Japanese late night during the ball drop, but it was really fun. I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks for the opportunity and Happy New Years!
    m.lanz28(at)ymail(dot)com

  31. One of my fav New Year’s Eve was when I was in the Navy and me and my roommates invited about 100 people over and they all showed up and brought more guests. It was everything you can imagine it would of having that many sailors in one place. It wasn’t much longer after many of us shipped out to Iraq.
    teressaoliver at gmail dot com

  32. Every year, my best friend and her husband throw a massive NYE party. After almost everyone leaves, I sit around with some of my best friends, (we don’t see each other nearly as much as we’d like to),and we just talk about the year just past, good memories — it’s just a wonderful way to celebrate, and we’ve made it an annual ritual.

    Thanks for the giveaway and have a Happy New Year!

    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  33. We usually spend the evening inside with family and friends, lots of good eats…playing cards (poker) and listening to music until the ball’s about to drop. Then the wine is poured, toasts made, kisses shared…and then the party usually continues for a little while longer. Those that drank a little too much, or came without a designated driver snuggle in for the night…that’s just how we play. Better safe than sorry. 🙂 Happy 2012!

    barbbattaglia@yahoo.com

  34. I would like to be able to put a different memory on these but my best New Year’s memory was going into labor with my oldest son. 🙂 Ok, so the labor wasn’t the best memory but him being born soon after was. 🙂

  35. i don’t like celebrate that much, so I usually have dinner with friends, but I loved NY when I was a kid because i could stay up late, sip champagne and watch fireworks!

    aliasgirl at libero dot it

  36. Y2K was the most memorable for me. I got to spend it with my husband, brothers, father and step mom. We went to a party for New Years eve and went to the Rose Parade for New Years Morning. We got to sit in the stands to watch the parade, got a continental breakfast before the parade, a hot brunch after the parade, and a souvenir of the occasion. It was the best time of all since my brother, father and step mom all lived in Texas and I live in Pasadena, CA. It was my first time going to the parade where I didn’t have to camp on the street just to save a place to see the parade. Let me tell you, that’s not something you want
    to do unless you are young. It gets way too cold for these old bones. LOL

    Happy New Year and thanks for the chance to win such a great prize.

    reneebennett35 at yahoo dot com

  37. My birthday is NYE and one of my sisters is NYD so we have a combined birthday party at midnight.
    snulfers at hotmail dot com

  38. My favorite NYE memory is the one I spend with my now husband. We went out with friends, it was horrible, they fought the whole night but during all that he leaned over I told me that he loved me.

    Happy New Year, thanks for the great giveaway!

    areeths at new dot rr dot com

  39. My new year’s are pretty boring. I stay at home and watch the ball drop. The only party I can remember going to was my cousin’s wedding reception because she was married on New Year’s eve. It was a fun wedding.

    beckerjo at verizon dot net

  40. I stay home so I don’t have a memorbale story.Just as a teenager i’d go to parties 🙂
    Thanks for the great giveaway

    elaing8(at)netscape(dot)net

  41. I would enjoy seeing the Rose Parade live, I think…even though I’m not big on crowds.

    I got married on New Year’s Day (1988) so that was my most memorable New Year–by far!

    Cheers,
    catherinelee100[at]gmail[dot]com
    @capefearlibn

  42. Oh dear, I hate to sound like a broken record seeing as how I posted this response on a few other blogs, however, my favorite memory is actually a tradition that takes place in my home country of Brazil. For New Years, the color of your clothing represents what you want for the new year. For example, many Brazilians wear white for peace and inner calm, but you see a few wearing red for passion or pink for love, some wear green in hopes of earning more that year as well. Every year i’m excited to see what colors people decide to wear on New Years, and I love getting together at the end of the year to see if their wishes came true.

  43. My favorite new years was when I had a fun and crazy party with friends last year, the champagne was literally flowing everywhere!

  44. I spent New Years with My mom had a nice quiet night watching movies!
    Thank you so much for taking part in this fun Blog Hop! Great giveaway and Happy New Year Too you!
    Latisha D
    tishajean@ charter.net

  45. Thanks for the great opportunity. My New Year’s have all been pretty tame and spent in the company of family and friends. We have people from out of town, usually family visiting from Mexico. We do the grapes and certain other traditions, depending on what we want to focus for that year. It’s all about new beginnings.

    monipadron@gmail.com

  46. I don’t have a memorable NYE to really talk about, but they have been really good times, I have spent them with my family, we watch the countdown on tv, eat snacks, have a couple of drinks and play games.

  47. My family parties at home with lots of good food and we watch the ball drop in Times Square. I remember my children when they were little, dancing to Dick Clark’s New Years Eve and watching the ball drop. We do it every year for the past 40.

    Thank you for the wonderful contest.

    I hope you have a very prosperous New Year.

    orelukjp0 at gmail dot com

  48. My favorite is this one… we found a doctor who said he will help me get help with my heart condition. After looking for over 3 years…

    Pamela Jo
    pmjg(at)E-jama(dot)net

Leave a Reply

